Old Scholars

Application form to join the Old Scholars’ Association are available to download here

find us on facebook badge narrow

 Appeal for volunteers - Post 18 Careers Pathway Event

Following on from a very successful turn out, FSLOSA is delighted to be invited back to the FSL Post 18 Careers Pathway Event

This event will be held on the 27th September from 7pm - 9pm in the Canteen for parents and pupils of Years 12, 13 and 14. It is a very informal evening where pupils talk to Old Scholars about university experiences / travel / alternative study opportunities / careers etc. Any and all Old Scholars who could offer experiences and advices would be a great inclusion, as we try to cover as many areas as possible and offer advices from the wealth of knowledge and experience contained within the Old Scholars. 

If you could attend, please contact

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 



3 OCTOBER 2018 AT 7.30 PM


Archive Room

Burney Cup Winners1940

Friends’ School, which was founded in 1774, has a proud history.  It is, in fact, the oldest school in Ulster to the east of the Bann.  In line with Quaker tradition records have been carefully preserved and stored material represents a rich collection of information about the School over 240 years. Since 2005 the various records have been brought together into a central archive where they can be consulted more conveniently in a special room. The collection consists of pupil lists, school books, annual reports, curriculum matters, magazines, photographs, memorabilia and a collection of ancient books withdrawn from everyday use in the library.  Together they provide a valuable picture of School life over the past centuries and are being constantly supplemented by the addition of current items of future historical interest. 

It is important that pupils, staff, Old Scholars and the general public have access to this material and that the collection does not remain static but is constantly updated and developed.  The Archive Room is open to visit by arranging an appointment during term time either by contacting School on 028 92 662156 or by contacting This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. The initial work of collecting and cataloguing the material was done by Arthur Chapman but he needs assistance in this work.  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. panel of volunteers is needed to provide cover at these times and to continue the task of making available to all the fascinating story of life at FSL since the 18th century. If you can assist in this valuable project please contact the Secretary of the Old Scholars’ Association, Maxine Boyd (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.),or the Principal, Stephen Moore, at the School (02892 662156 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).
Annual General Meeting
Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of May 2016 may now be downloaded here
Reports presented at the Annual General Meeting of May 2017 may now be downloaded here
Information regarding the Life Membership Fund for the Annual General Meeting, May 2017, may now be downloaded here
Information regarding Income and Expenditure for the Old Scholars’ Association presented at the Annual General Meeting, May 2017, may now be downloaded here


Are you interested in becoming a member of the Old Scholars’ Committee?

The Committee meets at regular intervals throughout the year at Friends’ School

and is appealing for new members to take office effective from the Annual General Meeting 

 for the 2018– 2019 year.


If you would like to become involved in the Committee’s work of promoting

Friends’ School and maintaining ties with past pupils please contact

Maxine Boyd, Secretary  for further details on 028 92 670613


2017 - 2018


PRESIDENT                                                   Ashley McCausland
PAST PRESIDENT                                         Holly Poots
The following have been nominated for election as office – bearers:
HONORARY SECRETARY                             Maxine Boyd
SECRETARY                                                 Liz Palmer
HONORARY TREASURER                             Brian Mairs
 6       John Stanage
7        Donald Patterson  
8        Amy Brackenridge
9        Sarah Mailey
10      Ashley McCausland
11       Denis Wilson
(One Year Term)
12      2017 - 2018                                          Christopher Clarke   
13      2017 - 2018                                          Noel Clarke
14      2017 - 2018                                          Aidan Pearson
EX-OFFICIO – PRINCIPAL                                                       
15                                                                  Stephen Moore
The constitution permits a maximum 16 Committee members.